Evidence atlas · Topic

Painwhat the research examines

Short answer: The library holds 25 references on virtual reality and pain, published between 2014 and 2026. They include 4 systematic reviews or meta-analyses and 6 randomised controlled trials. The research mainly examines pain during procedures.

The evidence in numbers

25References
4Systematic reviews and meta-analyses
6Randomised trials
2014–2026Years
  • Meta-analyses4
  • Randomised controlled trials6
  • Non-randomised clinical studies3
  • Pilot or feasibility studies4
  • Case reports or series1
  • Narrative or scoping reviews3
  • Essays, editorials or conceptual papers1
  • Books or chapters1
  • Clinical studies, design not stated2

Counted in the RVer study library · languages: English, Spanish. The design of each study was classified by the team from the publication.

What the research examines

  • Pain during procedures: needles and cannulas, dental treatment, dressings and examinations, especially in children.
  • Acute pain on the ward and after surgery, and chronic pain.
  • Distraction as a mechanism: attention that goes to the immersive environment is no longer on the painful stimulus.
  • Whether virtual reality reduces the need for sedation or analgesia during the procedure.

What is not yet known

  • How long the effect lasts after the session ends.
  • How it compares with other forms of distraction, beyond usual care.
  • Little research with older people in care homes or with long-standing chronic pain.
  • Scales and measurement points differ from study to study, which makes results hard to pool.

The references, by study design

Pilot or feasibility studies · 4

Case reports or series · 1

Narrative or scoping reviews · 3

Essays, editorials or conceptual papers · 1

Books or chapters · 1

Clinical studies, design not stated · 2

Glossary terms

Other topics

This page describes what published research on virtual reality examines in this topic. It is not a claim about RVer's performance and does not replace clinical assessment. The Class I medical device registration (EUDAMED, Basic UDI-DI 56006195127RVERTZ, and INFARMED, Portugal, CDM 94571546) covers the RVer base product.